Complete package | turn_to_zero

Complete package for households

Project facts

Project type: Energy efficiency, renewable energy, agriculture and forestry, water, sanitation and hygiene

Project standort: Ethiopia

Project standard: University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna

Annual emission reduction: 24.000 t in five years

Project start: March 2017

In the fight against climate change and in cooperation with Caritas and the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna, we have been involved in our own climate protection project in Ethiopia since 2017. This is the first certified climate protection project on a global level in which several measures are bundled into a complete package. Overall, this will improve the quality of life of 5,000 households.

Offset emissions

Project overview

 

The project

In cooperation with the foreign aid programme of Caritas Vorarlberg, around 5,000 households in 8 municipalities covering an area of 400 km² will receive a helping hand.
The complete package for a household includes two efficient cookers, vegetable seeds including training in vegetable cultivation, tree saplings along with a reforestation project, a solar-powered light source and WADI drinking water treatment, which is operated by the power of the sun.

Currently, many households in Ethiopia still cook on open fireplaces. On the one hand, this causes unnecessarily high wood consumption and, on the other hand, an increased risk of injury from fumes and burns. With efficient and regionally manufactured cookers, wood consumption, fumes and the risk of burns can be reduced.

By providing vegetable seeds and tree saplings for personal consumption as well as training on composting and plant cultivation, people can improve the condition of their soils by building up humus. This increases the yield as a result and subsequently guarantees food security.

In addition, households are provided with solar-powered light sources that people install and operate themselves. The solar-powered lamps serve as a replacement for kerosene lamps and are intended to eliminate the risk of emissions from these lamps, which are harmful to health and the climate. 

In order to give people access to clean drinking water and thus eliminate the health risk arising from contaminated drinking water, every household receives a practical measuring device called WADI (Water Disinfection). The WADI was developed in Austria and is a solar-powered UV measuring device that shows the point at which the water disinfected by solar UV rays in PET bottles can be consumed.

„The climate protection project in Ethiopia is the first certified project worldwide that focuses on the entire household, where several measures are implemented at the same time. We are very proud of the fact that five measures have been bundled into one package and that this is being implemented by an Austrian cooperation effort.“
Martin Hagleitner-Huber, Head of Foreign Aid at Caritas Vorarlberg

The goals of the project are clearly defined: in five years, a total of 24,000 tons of CO₂e should be saved. It is particularly important to us that the living conditions of the local people improve sustainably through the project. At the same time, the project includes awareness raising among the population and training courses for the residents. Everything in the project area has been engineered to help people. The implementation of the measures is already in full swing.

The distribution of roles has been clearly arranged; turn to zero is mainly responsible for sales and the allocation of the emissions saved. Caritas in Meki is responsible for the implementation on site. The activities are coordinated and regularly checked by Caritas Vorarlberg. In addition, the project is being carried out according to the climate protection standards of the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna. This way, the success of the project is guaranteed.

Achievements so far
  • Efficient cookers reduce the consumption of firewood.
  • WADI is very effective against bacteria, amoebas, protozoa, single-cell organisms and viruses and reduces the risk of diseases caused by infected drinking water.
  • The replacement of kerosene lamps and open fireplaces improves the air quality in people's homes.
  • Providing training for the residents promotes awareness.
  • Composting and humus processing will increase soil health and bearing capacity.
  • Reforestation
Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

Gesamtpaket für Haushalte

Fakten zum Projekt

 

Projekttyp: Energieeffizienz, Erneuerbare Energie, Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Wasser, Sanitärversorgung und Hygiene

Projektstandort: Äthiopien

Projektstandard: Universität für Bodenkultur, Wien

Jährliche Emissionsreduktion: 24.000 t in fünf Jahren

Projektstart: März 2017

Im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel sind wir in Kooperation mit der Caritas und der Universität für Bodenkultur in Wien seit 2017 mit einem eigenen Klimaschutzprojekt in Äthiopien vertreten. Dabei handelt es sich um das erste zertifizierte Klimaschutzprojekt weltweit, bei dem mehrere Maßnahmen zu einem gesamten Paket gebündelt werden. Insgesamt wird so die Lebensqualität von 5.000 Haushalten verbessert.

Emissionen ausgleichen

Zur Projektübersicht

 

Das Projekt

In Kooperation mit der Auslandshilfe der Caritas Vorarlberg soll rund 5.000 Haushalten in 8 Gemeinden auf einer Fläche von 400 km² unter die Arme gegriffen werden.
Das Gesamtpaket für einen Haushalt beinhaltet zwei effiziente Kochöfen, Gemüsesamen inklusive einer Schulung zum Gemüseanbau, Baumsetzlinge inklusive Aufforstungsprojekt, eine solarbetriebene Lichtquelle sowie die Trinkwasseraufbereitung WADI, welche durch die Kraft der Sonne erfolgt.

Derzeit wird in Äthiopien noch in vielen Haushalten auf offenen Feuerstellen gekocht. Dies verursacht einerseits einen unnötig hohen Holzverbrauch und zum anderen eine gesteigerte Gefährdung durch Rauchgase und Verbrennungen. Durch effiziente und regional hergestellte Kochöfen können der Holzverbrauch, Rauchgase und die Verbrennungsgefahr reduziert werden.

Durch die Bereitstellung von Gemüsesamen und Baumsetzlingen für den Eigenverbrauch sowie Schulungen zu den Themen Kompostierung und Pflanzenbau können die Menschen durch Humusaufbau den Zustand ihrer Böden verbessern. Dadurch werden die Erträge gesteigert und in weiterer Folge die Ernährungssicherheit gesichert.

Zusätzlich werden den Haushalten solarbetriebene Lichtquellen zur Verfügung gestellt, welche die Menschen selbst installieren und betreiben. Die solarbetriebenen Lampen dienen als Ersatz für Kerosinlampen und sollen die Gefahr durch deren gesundheits- und klimaschädliche Abgase beseitigen. 

Um den Menschen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser zu ermöglichen und damit die Gesundheitsgefahr durch verschmutztes Trinkwasser zu eliminieren, bekommt jeder Haushalt ein praktikables Messgerät namens WADI (Water Disinfection). Das WADI wurde in Österreich entwickelt und ist ein solarbetriebenes UV-Messgerät, das anzeigt, ab welchem Zeitpunkt das durch solare UV-Strahlen in PET-Flaschen desinfizierte Wasser getrunken werden kann.

„Das Klimaschutzprojekt in Äthiopien ist das erste zertifizierte Projekt weltweit, das den gesamten Haushalt im Fokus hat und bei dem mehrere Maßnahmen gleichzeitig umgesetzt werden. Wir sind sehr stolz, dass gleich fünf Maßnahmen zu einem Paket gebündelt werden und dies durch eine österreichische Kooperation realisiert wird.“
Martin Hagleitner-Huber, Leiter der Auslandshilfe der Caritas Vorarlberg

Die Ziele des Projektes sind klar definiert: in fünf Jahren sollen insgesamt 24.000 Tonnen CO₂e eingespart werden. Uns liegt dabei besonders am Herzen, dass sich die Lebenssituation der Menschen vor Ort durch das Projekt nachhaltig verbessert. Gleichzeitig finden eine Bewusstseinsbildung der Bevölkerung und Schulungen für die Einwohner statt. Im Projektgebiet wurde bereits alles in die Wege geleitet, um den Menschen zu helfen. Die Umsetzung der Maßnahmen ist bereits in vollem Gange.

Die Rollenverteilung ist klar geregelt. turn to zero ist überwiegend für den Vertrieb und die Vergabe der eingesparten Emissionen zuständig. Die Umsetzung vor Ort übernimmt die Caritas in Meki. Sie wird von der Caritas Vorarlberg koordiniert und regelmäßig kontrolliert. Zusätzlich wird das Projekt nach Klimaschutzstandards der Universität für Bodenkultur in Wien durchgeführt. So kann der Erfolg des Projektes sichergestellt werden.

Bisher Erreichtes
  • Durch effiziente Kochöfen wird der Verbrauch von Brennholz reduziert.
  • WADI ist sehr effektiv gegen Bakterien, Amöben, Protozoen, Einzeller und Viren und vermindert die Gefahr von Krankheiten durch infiziertes Trinkwasser.
  • Der Ersatz von Kerosinlampen und offene Feuerstellen verbessert die Luftqualität in den Häusern der Menschen.
  • Schulungen der Einwohner:innen fördern das Bewusstsein.
  • Durch Kompostierung und Humusaufbereitung werden die Bodengesundheit und -ertragfähigkeit gesteigert.
  • Aufforstung
     
Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero

Gesamtpaket | turn_to_zero

© Anna Maierhofer, turn to zero